A run on red, retired and borrowed!

Well, I have 4 cards to share with you this afternoon. I’ve had a bit of a run on red, retired stamps and a borrowed stamp set.  After completing another 10 of my Christmas #2 card last week I was a little OVER Christmas cards, being as really, we’ve only just gotten over Christmas 2009. However, I do feel really good about already having a dozen Christmas cards for Christmas this year! When I receive the circle scissor I’ve just ordered from the Stampin’ Up! Summer mini I’ve got some more Christmas cards in mind using the Happy Christmas Mate set from the 2009-200 Idea Book & Catalogue, but that’s another post! Thanks for taking the time to drop by!

Ok – on with today … firstly I just HAD to make a card using the Classic Pickups set I received earlier this week. It’s a retired (2007!) USA set and I’ve been looking for it for about 2 years – finally found someone willing to part with their new, unmounted set. I have a lot of motor heads in my life so had been on the look out for this set and was very excited when I won the auction and it finally made it into my hands. I wanted to add texture to the card so used a Cuttlebug embossing folder but thought later that I could have used my SU crimper! Cardstock colours are Real Red, Basic Black, Kraft and Whisper White. Eyelets are retired SU eyelets. The car is coloured with Prisma Pencils.

This quick an easy card was made using an image a friend stamped off for me (thanks Court!!). I have again used a Cuttlebug embossing folder but could have used my SU crimper to add texture to the cardstock. Cardstock colours are Real Red, Basic Black and Whisper White.

The following two cards were made using a great little Papertrey Ink set Everyday Button Bits, which I have borrrowed from Court (thanks Court!). I don’t usually stray too far from the SU brand but have always had problems getting buttons to sit right on my cards and when Court showed me this set I had to give it a try. Now I think I’ll be able to think outside the square a little in regards to using buttons with the SU sets! Cardstock colours are Ruby Red, River Rock, Whisper White & Basic Grey. DSP = Patterns Pack II. Ribbon = Riding Hood Red Tafetta. SU Clear buttons. Non SU items – stamps, alcohol inks = used to create background piece in the Soaring high card and to colour buttons.

About Chelle

Loves soaping, cardmaking & crafts, photography is becoming a passion, enjoys travel, reading, cooking, gardening, am married to my soul mate, live on some acres away from the city ... loves life for what it is!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A run on red, retired and borrowed!

  1. Pingback: A run on red, retired and borrowed! « Chelle's Craft Blog | chelles

  2. Pat(mspfd) says:

    Love your red collection! Wonderful designs and great details. Beautiful job, Chelle!

  3. Courtney says:

    Ohhh I love all of these Chelle!!! The embossing folder on the first one is awesome, looks like aged wood! I love how you have set them all up – great cards:) Can’t wait to stamp together again soon.

  4. Jen says:

    Chelle, your last posts are great you have been a busy gal!
    Love your creations and i hope to give my self opportunity to go in my studio soon:)

  5. amiee says:

    I love all these 4 cards chelle, especially the last one. And you are way to organised to have started making chrissy ’10 cards already. You go girl!!!

Leave a Reply

